Our museum has three furnished historic homes, a Lutheran church and an Anglican church, a one room school house, historic community hall, NAR caboose, trapper's cabin, a contemporary log building with wildlife and forestry exhibits, an old store, a District Nurse's examination room and much more. Our staff offer informative and interesting tours and our inviting grounds are the perfect place for a picnic. A more detailed description of our museum's offerings are listed below.
Information: Location: The End of Steel Museum is located at the intersection of Highway 64 and Highway 685, the southern most of the two exits for Hines Creek. Contact: Office: 780-494-3522 (Answering Machine - During Season Only) Bookings: 780-835-7827 Nancy Van Herk (Weddings, Special Events, School Tours) Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Mailing Address: End of Steel Museum, Box 686, Hines Creek, T0H 2A0 Hours: (under review) Open mid May to mid Sept. opening Day tentatively scheduled for May 13, 2017 Monday to Saturday 10:00 - 6:00 Sunday 1:00 - 6:00 Last tour of buildings 4:30 Country Market: Saturdays 10:00 - 1:00, runs till early October, call Nancy Van Herk, 780-835-7827 for details. Homemade cinnamon buns hot out of our oven every week. Special Events: Pancake Breakfast, 8:30 - 11:00, Canada Day, July 1st. Adults $10.00, Children 6 - 12 $5.00, Children under 5 are free. Pancakes with fresh berries, whipped cream and syrup, ham and eggs make for a delicious breakfast and Morgan's Confectionary is decorated to celebrate Canada Day! Heritage Day, 8:30 - 6:00, Monday of the August long weekend - August 7, 2017. Entry by Donation. A pancake breakfast begins the day followed by demonstrations of pioneer crafts, log sawing, an antique tractor parade, horse drawn wagon rides, bannock baked over an open fire, blacksmithing demonstration, games for the children, a country market, bread baked in our historic outdoor oven, live music and, of course, tours of the museum buildings. There will be hamburgers, hot dogs, homemade pie and ice cream, lemonade and iced tea for sale starting at noon. Facilities: Community Hall with kitchen, Bandstand, Churches for Weddings, School Tours, and more. Call Nancy Van Herk, 780-835-7827 for details.
The End of Steel Museum opened in 1985 and has been growing and evolving ever since. The history of the Hines Creek area is unique because the village lies at the northern extent of the railroad. The tracks were built to the point at which the freight rates would have risen and no further. This entailed moving the village from its original site on the creek from which it takes its name, to the present day location. Hines Creek became a transportation hub with the arrival of the first train in December of 1930 and at one point there were five grain elevators along the tracks.
The museum has three historic houses: the Pohaboff House (1928) a small hand-hewn log homestead cabin, the Carter House (1938) an unusually large and grand home, especially as it was built during the Great Depression, and the French "Half-House" (1948-1949) which is exactly that, only half of the two story home was ever built resulting in an incredibly narrow staircase. Each of these homes are furnished with era appropriate artifacts to give visitors the feeling that the owners might return at any minute.
Hines Creek School #4430 is a beautifully preserved log school which allows one to imagine what it must have been like to ride to school three on a pony, or to try to learn when there were two teachers trying to teach all grades from the first to high school matriculation, in one room. There are two historic churches, Christ Lutheran (1928-1932) preserved and restored by the children of the original builders and St. James Anglican (1938) erected through a donation from the Women's Auxiliary of St. James Anglican Church in Stratford, Ontario, prior to that the congregation had to make do with meeting in schools and homes and with Miss Eva Hasell's Sunday School Caravan.
The Museum also has a Trapper's log cabin which while not all that old (1975) is no different from a much earlier trapper's cabin. Although tiny and crude, the temporary shelters used along the trapline, out in the bush, must have made this a welcome sanctuary. We also have a caboose NAR 13021 which was built in Montreal in 1949 and served as bedroom, office and kitchen for three railmen. In 1945 Morgan's Confectionary began life as Mary and John Morgan's clothing store, later the couple also had a cafe, grocery, the bus depot and sold all manner of licences in Hines Creek. After John's passing in 1967 Mary returned and started the confectionary, running it until she was 91.
The Wildlife and Forestry exhibits are housed in a stunning contemporary log building. Inside it boasts an amazing display of local wildlife, set in an autumn boreal forest and a comprehensive display of the sort of hand tools that were used to build settlers' cabins, as well as early chain saws. We also have a large collection of early agricultural equipment and machinery, hand tools, and early tractors and vehicles including a Bombardier "Nodwell" the track vehicle that kept the Canadian north connected. Two projects we are currently working on are a Ukrainian Heritage building and a working Blacksmith's Shop, the building is in place but we are seeking more tools and an anvil or two.
Lubeck Hall is a good example of the sort of community hall that dotted the area, built so that scattered farm populations had a place to come together, to dance and play and get the news. It is still used this way at the museum, as it is the location of our Saturday Country Market, a popular place to chat over a cinnamon bun hot out of the oven and a cup of coffee.
Create your own unique website with customizable templates.